Speakers

Unless otherwise noted, all talks are in the Department of Philosophy Conference Room,
Room 1618, 25 Park Place, Atlanta, GA 30303.

You may wish to see the list of past visitors to the Department.

Spring 2016
2016 Spring Talks and Workshops

  • Friday, February 12, 2016, 10:00 am – Ned Block(New York University): “Is there a joint in nature between cognition and perception?.” SPEAKERS AUDITORIUM
  • Monday, February 15, 2016, 3:00 pm – Jacob Levy(McGill University): “There’s No Such Thing As Ideal Theory.”

GSU Philosophy Speaker Series

  • Friday, February 26, 2016, 3:00 pm – Derrick Darby(University of Michigan): “TBA.”
  • Friday, April 1, 2016, 3:00 pm – Daniel Burnston (Tulane University): “TBA.”

Fall 2015

  • Thursday, September 17, 2015, 1:00 pm – Adam Minter: “Living on Junkyard Planet: A Personal Perspective on Waste Dumping, Making a Living, and Dignity”  Note: Lanier Suite (SCE216 of Student Center)
  • Friday, September 25, 2015, 3:00 pm – Joshua Knobe (Yale University): “The Ordinary Notion of a ‘True Self.’”
  • Friday, October 16, 2015, 3:00 pm – Aaron Garrett (Boston University): “TBA.”
  • Friday, October 23, 2015, 3:00 pm – Tania Lombrozo (UC Berkley, Psychology): “TBA.”
  • Friday, November 6, 2015, 3:00 pm – Timothy K. Kuhner (GSU Law): “TBA.”
  • Thursday, November 19, 2015, 5:30 pm – Brian Leiter (University of Chicago, Law): “Why Tolerate Religion?”
  • Friday, December 4, 2015, 3:00 pm – Derk Pereboom (Cornell University): “TBA.”

Neurophilosophy Forum is an interdisciplinary group of faculty and students who meet for discussion and debate on issues at the intersection of philosophy, neuroscience, and cognitive psychology. Join us! All talks will take place in the Philosophy Department at Georgia State University, 34 Peachtree St., 11th floor (See below FAQ for direction). Feel free to bring your lunch and spread the word. You may also want to check out events at the newly formed Emory Center for Mind, Brain, and Culture.