Speakers

Unless otherwise noted, all talks are in the Department of Philosophy Conference Room,
Room 1618, 25 Park Place, Atlanta, GA 30303.

You may wish to see the list of past visitors to the Department.

Spring 2015

  • Friday, January 30, 2015, 3:00 pm – Chris Morris(University of Maryland, College Park): “How (not to) define the state?”
  • Friday, February 6, 2015, 3:00 pm – Chandra Sripada (University of Michigan): “Addiction, Fallibility, and Responsibility”
  • Friday, February 13, 2015, 3:00 pm – Geoffrey Sayre-McCord (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill ): “Rational Agency and the Nature of Normative Concepts”
  • Thursday, March 5, 2015, 5:00 pm – 100 Auburn Auditorium Brian Leiter (University of Chicago Law School): “Why Tolerate Religion?”
  • Friday, March 6, 2015, 3:00 pm – Joshua Knobe (Yale University): “TBA”
  • Monday, March 23, 2015, 3:00 pm – Naomi Zack (University of Oregon): “TBA”
  • Friday, March 27, 2015, 3:00 pm – Justin Coates(University of Houston): “TBA”
  • Friday, April 10, 2015, 3:00 pm – Linda Radzik (Texas A&M University): “TBA”
  • Tuesday, April 14, 2015, 10:00 am – Patricia Churchland (University of California, San Diego): “TBA”
  • Friday, April 24, 2015, 3:00 pm – Bernard Reginster (Brown University): “TBA”

Fall 2014

  • Friday, September 5, 2014, 3:00 pm – Patricia Kitcher (Columbia University): “A Kantian Critique of Transparency”
  • Friday, October 3, 2014, 3:00 pm – Gideon Yaffe (Yale University Law School): “The Point of Mens Rea: The Case of Willful Ignorance”

Spring 2014

  • Friday, January 24, 2014, 3:00 pm – Owen Flanagan (Duke University): “21st c. Moral Psychology Meets Classical Chinese Philosophy: Some Lessons about Proper Cultivation of Moral Sprouts.” Part of the Neurophilosophy Forum.
  • Friday, March 7, 2014, 3:00 pm – Felipe DeBrigard (Duke University): “Toward a Cognitive Neuroscience of Modal Cognition.” Part of the Neurophilosophy Forum.
  • Monday, March 10, 2014, 3:00 pm – Kit Wellman (University of Washington in St. Louis): “Procedural Rights.” Sponsored by the Jean Beer Blumenfeld Center for Ethics.
  • Friday, March 28, 2014, 3:00 pm – Candice Delmas (Clemson University): “The Ethics of Government Whistleblowing.”
  • Tuesday, April 8, 2014, 1:00 pm – Alex Gourevitch (Political Theory, Brown University) and James Otteson (Executive Director of the BB&T Center for the Study of Capitalism at Wake Forest University) : “TBA”  NOTE:  Venue TBA.    Sponsored by the Jean Beer Blumenfeld Center for Ethics.
  • Friday, April 11, 2014, 3:00 pm – Chris McMahon (University of California, Santa Barbara): “TBA”  Sponsored by the Jean Beer Blumenfeld Center for Ethics.
  • Friday, April 25, 2014, 3:00 pm – Cynthia Stark (University of Utah): “Rescuing the Pareto Argument.” “

Neurophilosophy Forum is an interdisciplinary group of faculty and students who meet for discussion and debate on issues at the intersection of philosophy, neuroscience, and cognitive psychology. Join us! All talks will take place in the Philosophy Department at Georgia State University, 34 Peachtree St., 11th floor (See below FAQ for direction). Feel free to bring your lunch and spread the word. You may also want to check out events at the newly formed Emory Center for Mind, Brain, and Culture. For more information about the Neurophilosophy Forum, click here.

 
Joshua Knobe (Yale, Cognitive Science and Philosophy) will give a talk this Friday, March 6 at 3pm in the... via @GSUPhilosophy 1 day ago