Phi Sigma Tau

Call for Papers

Annual Georgia Student Philosophy Symposium Saturday February 28th, 2015
Keynote speaker: Professor Rachana Kamtekar Department of Philosophy, University of Arizona

Undergraduate and graduate students in all disciplines encouraged to submit their work on any philosophical topic.
PRIZES: Authors of the best graduate and undergraduate papers will each receive a prize of $100 worth of books of their choice.

Submission Requirements: Papers must be prepared for blind review (i.e., no author-identifying information or notes in the body of the paper, only on a separate the cover page). Submissions must not exceed 3750 words (roughly 25 minutes reading time). When submitting, please include the following in the body of the email:

1. Author’s name
2. Paper/presentation title
3. Brief abstract (~100 words describing topic discussed in paper)
4. Academic status (undergraduate/graduate), major, university affiliation
5. Regularly checked email address

Authors should email their submission as a Word or PDF attachment to:

Deadline: Papers must be received no later than 12 Noon, December 22st, 2014. Notification of acceptance will be emailed by January 20th, 2015.

Official rules and further details available: Paper Submission Information.

For any questions (including queries from students traveling from outside the area who may need overnight accommodations) –
contact Robert Boudreau Maria Caruso at Rboudreau3[at]student[dot]gsu[dot]edu

Sponsored by the Zeta Chapter (Georgia) of Phi Sigma Tau, The Center for Ethics – Student Forum, and The Jean Beer Blumenfeld Center for Ethics – all at Georgia State University


Georgia State University is home to the Zeta chapter (Georgia) of the philosophy honor society, Phi Sigma Tau. This international honor society has more than 200 chapters throughout North America. The Society helps to promote continued interest, collaboration, and links among philosophy students and philosophy departments among its members. The Society also publishes a journal, Dialogue, which is student edited and features contributions of the best work by students. Phi Sigma Tau is a member of Association of College Honor Societies, which is a cross-disciplinary consortium of groups dedicated to scholarship and the arts.

The Zeta chapter at Georgia State fosters student scholarship and offers the opportunity to develop, refine, and present work to professional audiences. Membership is open to any Georgia State student. Undergrad candidates must have completed 3 semesters of university study, have an overall GPA of at least a B (3.0), have a philosophy GPA that is greater than a B (higher than 3.0), and have successfully completed two philosophy courses (at least five credits). Graduate student candidates must have a GPA greater than 3.5, have earned A or A- grades for at least one half of their courses, and have completed at least one full semester of full-time enrollment at the master’s level.

Please contact the chapter president for membership information.

Among its activities, the Zeta chapter at Georgia State hosts regular philosophy gatherings, assists students with presenting their work at professional conferences, cosponsors visiting speakers, Among its activities, the Zeta chapter at Georgia State hosts regular philosophy gatherings, assists students with presenting their work at professional conferences, cosponsors visiting speakers, organizes an interdisciplinary “brown bag” lunch series each fall, and is host to an annual philosophy symposium, which has grown in prestige over the past several years. The symposium has drawn participants from throughout the United States, Canada, and Asia. Among the list of distinguished keynotes:

2009: Mark Murphy, Georgetown
2010: David Schmidtz, University of Arizona
2011: Marcia Baron, Indiana University
2012: Valerie Tiberius, University of Minnesota
2013: Alistair Norcross, University of Colorado Boulder
2014: Rebecca Kukla, Georgetown
2015: Rachana Kamtekar, University of Arizona

The 2015-2016 officers of the Zeta chapter are:

President: Andrew Vierra
Vice President: Calvin Warner
Secretary: Jared Riggs
Treasurer: Mandy Long

The 2014-2015 officers of the Zeta chapter are:

President: Rob Boudreau
Vice President: Nathan Houck
Secretary: Gerald Taylor
Treasurer: Owen Skarpness

The 2013-2014 officers of the Zeta chapter are:

President: Maria Caruso (Philosophy, MA candidate)
Vice President: Adam Shmidt (Philosophy, MA candidate)
Secretary: Katie Punsly (Philosophy, MA candidate)
Treasurer: David DiDomenico (Philosophy, MA candidate)

The 2012-2013 officers of the Zeta chapter are:

President: Carson Young (Philosophy, MA candidate)
Vice President: J.P. Messina (Philosophy, MA candidate)
Secretary: Toni Adleberg (Philosophy, MA candidate)
Treasurer: Pierce Randall (Philosophy, MA candidate)

The 2011-2012 officers of the Zeta chapter are:

President: Noel Martin (Philosophy, MA candidate)
Vice President: Shanna Slank (Philosophy, MA candidate)
Treasurer: James DiGiovanni (Philosophy, MA candidate)

Faculty Advisor: Andrew I. Cohen